• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Collar-bone, plate or natural heal?

KBolgen

I recently snapped my collarbone clear in half. Two options are let it heal naturally with a gnarly bump left-over. Or use a plate to fuse the two pieces of bone, creating a flush heal and some minor hard-wear retained. Obviously neither is considered disqualifying for my SNA contract (was supposed to start TBS in oct...now make that march..ish).

However, I am curious if there is anyone out there who has had a collar-bone break that has left a noticeable bump, and if it affects weight distribution with a flak/ruck on, or irritation in a harness?

Having spent 6 years as a radio operator I know full well how important weight distribution of a pack is. Hopefully my ground-pounding days are numbered but I'm sure a FAC tour somewhere down (way down) the road will load a full pack up again, and I just want to make sure some past bone break that didn't heal flush will not come back and haunt me.

Obviously a very specific situation, but any feedback would be great.

RAH.

zab1001

pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Broke mine on both ends. Let it heal naturally. No issues. The bumps aren't noticeable.

Can't speak to packs though.

beaverslayer

pilot
I did exactly the same thing last August, and was given the same options. I was told it would heal just fine by itself with no help, or I could have a 6 inch plate and 7 screws put into it. The way it was described to me, avoiding surgery would be easier on my body in the short term (obviously), but surgery would be better in the long run.