• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

BDCP= no subs??

bcooper7789

I have been looking at BDCP for some time now, and on the Navy website when I do the officer planner BDCP comes up when I enter Subs. So far though all signs lead to BDCP does not incorporate being a Submariner! Is the only way to become a submariner through NUPOC? If so, that sucks because of the extra classes you need completed to apply! I'm only a sophomore and haven't had a chance to do physics yet!

kd5pbo

I'm not sure, but you might be able to get in if you plan on taking it later, especially if your major requires it.

Make sure when you do take Calc and Physics you get good grades. NR cares about grades a lot more than the boards for other designators.

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick
Correct. NUPOC is basically BDCP on steroids. When accepted to NUPOC you'll get a selection bonus (something BDCPers don't get) as well getting E-6 pay instead of E-3.

Apply after this year...if I remember correctly you can only be on NUPOC for two years anyway...you haven't taken enough academics yet for the technical interviews.

cheme09

Subs does have BDCP, it's just called NUPOC.

Its basically the same. You can be accepted to the program up to 30 months prior to graduation. You will be considered active duty military with no obligations (no uniform, drills, etc). Really, the only difference b/w BDCP and NUPOC is the signing bonus (15k initially, then 2k when you finish NNPS) and your pay rate is E-6 prior to commissioning.

The part about the calculus and physics requirements and the interview at NR are standard requirements for all those who want a Nuclear designator, whether they come from NUPOC, NROTC, or USNA.