• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Am I Too Far Gone?

phrogpilot73

Do I think you're too far gone? It all depends on how badly you want it. I graduated from high school with a 1.96 GPA and a cool 1200 on the SAT's. I failed out of two community colleges. However, I still wanted to go to the Naval Academy. I got my act together and after 4 applications, was accepted. Even then it wasn't all downhill. At the end of my first year at the Academy, I had a 1.65. It took me a year to adjust, but I was able to get my grades up and graduated in '98, winged in '01. So, all that really matters is how strong your desire is.

usnphoenix

Remove before flight
pilot
Don't give up just yet. The first time I took the SAT's the Naval Academy sent me a nice little letter saying I wasn't even qualified for an application. I took the SAT's again and raised my score by 100 points. A few weeks later that application came in the mail. I eventually declined USNA to attend the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and I am heading down to P'cola in september. If you want the academy life style either go to community college to prove you have your act together for a year (if they still won't send you an application packet) or apply to USMMA or the ROTC program. Four years at USMMA landed me a flight spot, something my GPA probably wouldn't have gotten me at USNA because less USMMA mids try for SNA.

Look into Http://www.usmma.edu. If you have any questions about USMMA shoot me a PM. Keep in mind USMMA is not substandard at all. Its not a big name like Annapolis, but it is a federal service academy and I had offers from a few companys (one being G.E. Nuclear ) and a SNA slot when i graduated.

Prashant Patel