• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

A decision to make

First, let me start this off by saying I know in the end this is my decision alone. I'm simply looking for outside perspectives for others who have traveled the road.

I got news last week I was selected for a SNA slot, shipping out January 2022. I am currently a regional First Officer accepted into United's aviate program. Projections show I can be at United by March 2022 but I'm not holding my breath. Regardless, I'll probably end up at a mainline quite early before most, and seniority is everything. 10 years is a lot of seniority to give up to fly Navy but I'm weighing my options and was hoping for some insight from those who went Navy then Commercial.

1. How many hours did you get to fly?
  2. Did most people get the aircraft they wanted out of training?
  3. As you progressed in rank, I know flying slows down. Did this affect getting hired by a mainline? Did you have to go to a regional?
  4. What would you do in my position?

Thanks for your time.

Python

pilot
Contributor
First, let me start this off by saying I know in the end this is my decision alone. I'm simply looking for outside perspectives for others who have traveled the road.

I got news last week I was selected for a SNA slot, shipping out January 2022. I am currently a regional First Officer accepted into United's aviate program. Projections show I can be at United by March 2022 but I'm not holding my breath. Regardless, I'll probably end up at a mainline quite early before most, and seniority is everything. 10 years is a lot of seniority to give up to fly Navy but I'm weighing my options and was hoping for some insight from those who went Navy then Commercial.