• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USN 1310 got a NAMI NAA, now forced out via POCR

Cotton

pilot
I'm at the end of my rope. After some FRS syllabus troubles I got my NATOPS qual but then got sent to NAMI and received a NAA (non-aeronautically adapted). I was told as a probationary officer I met the qualifications to go to the POCR (probationary officer continuation and redesignation) board. They told me I was being sent because "I attrited from an initial course of instruction due to a physical disqualification." I quietly argued that I didn't believe my situation fit that description but they assured me it did. Reading the POCR business rules it states you're eligible for many reasons. From the business rules, my command states number (1) applies : Attrition for any reason from an initial course of instruction or duty necessary to obtain a designator, professional warfare qualification, or professional certification required to conduct an officer's duties, regardless of whether they have a remaining active duty service obligation or not." I'm a 1310 PQM. I don't see how this fits well enough to send me to the board.

Milpersman 1610-020 states:
  • Aviation officers whose medical incapacity has been determined to be permanent are disqualified for aviation service on the date specified by Navy Personnel Command.
    • Pilots or NFOs in the category will be redesignated to 130x and may apply for lateral transfer to a new community.
Short story is there were no slots open to redesigate me via the POCR since it's at the end of the FY. I asked why we couldn't wait till the new FY so more slots opened and was told to shut up and color. I was selected to separate into the IRR.