• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Suggestions for selecting Navy Pilot?

bat21bravo

Hello All,

I'm a current sophomore (3/c) at the US Naval Academy who wants to service select Navy Air. Are there any recent Academy grads out there that can offer some advice as to what should be done to optimize my chances of getting to fly after I graduate? Thanks very much in advance.

MIDNJAC

is clara ship
pilot
I'm going to caveat this by saying I was a ROTC guy, not USNA, but in the grand scheme of things, I don't think there is any extra magic involved getting SNA/NFO in either place. Get good grades, do well in your commissioning program, and get a competitive ASTB score (as well as pass the flight physical stuff). I'm sure you have friends at the Academy who are wanting to go aviation as well, so right there are the folks you need to be competitive with. See what they do, and do it better

Wudgles

Cause I am most ill and I'm rhymin' and stealin'
pilot
I'm an NROTC guy, too, but I'm pretty certain the same things matter for service assignment at Canoe U. Piggybacking on MIDNJAC's advice:

1) Get good grades (I believe this is the single biggest part of service assignment)
2) Have a good PT score
3) Be involved and perform well at USNA/NROTC stuff and extracurriculars (read: "get good FITREPs")
4) Don't be a shitbag

I don't think there is any extra magic involved getting SNA/NFO in either place.

+1; Other than that, there isn't much (unless maybe your dad is an admiral?)