• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

PCS vs Home of Record Move?

USSRyan

Any experts in PCS vs Home of Record move?
I graduated from OCS and got an order to Supply School across the bridge. I am authorized to do PCS move from my home of record to Supply School.
Is this a home of record move or just a regular PCS move? What is the difference? I spoke to people in the moving office and they told me that if I don’t use this move it is going to expire once my next order come in. Is this order separate from the Home of record or this is it?
(p.s: I saw the older threat about the PCS move but it didn't answer my question.)

R/

insanebikerboy

Internet killed the television star
pilot
None
Contributor
Home of record is a one time move that allows you to bring your crap from your home before OCS, whereever that may be. That way you can have all the toys and stuffed animals you had as a kid and the Navy pays to move them to you.

Once you PCS to your first non-accession command, the HOR move goes away.

The difference is that the HOR record move moves stuff from some other location to where you are going but a PCS moves your stuff from where you are now to where you are going.

Spekkio

He bowls overhand.
No. A HOR move is for getting out of the Navy. It authorizes you to move your stuff from your duty station to your HOR, since you won't have PCS orders to go home when you resign. If you decide to move a distance further than than your HOR, you have to pay the difference. You get to execute this move once. People sometimes use it before getting out for various reasons.