• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO to Pilot

StinkinMid

After searching through he forums, I read that it used to be if you ranked in the top 10% of your API class you might be granted the chance to redesignate from NFO to SNA. Anyone know if this is still the case?

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
It's like everything else in the Program - needs of the Navy. If they under-accessed SNAs and over-accessed FOs, and if you've got a good record and if you're physically qualified, then maybe. Every cone seems to come to NASP knowing about the mythical "#1 can redesignate" urban legend; in almost four years there as an instructor, I never saw or heard of it happening. It's not a Willy Wonka Golden Ticket or the USNA "magic brick".

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
...the mythical "#1 can redesignate" urban legend; in almost four years there as an instructor, I never saw or heard of it happening....

I am pretty sure it has happened for a few periods of time, early to mid-00's and I think back in my time for a short time but it is definitely not 'standard' and as you noted based on what the Navy needs.

Chachi

pilot
Contributor
A friend of mine was able to pull it off in 2011. He finished API and waited around stashed with a job while the bureaucracy was being carried out in the background..

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
A friend of mine was able to pull it off in 2011. He finished API and waited around stashed with a job while the bureaucracy was being carried out in the background..

Glad it worked out for him but it isn't the practice anymore.

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor