• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS Low Undergrad GPA, masters degree, prior civilian legal trouble, good conduct enlisted

Status
Not open for further replies.

PO2 Alexander

I searched the threads through and through to see if anyones situation is similar to mine, but I think mine is a bit unique.

Here's the deal, I graduated from a middle of the pack university in 2012 with a B.A. in History and minor in Spanish. My GPA was a lousy 2.8. I was also on the university soccer team all 4 years.

Upon graduation I knew I wouldn't stand a chance going commission with a low GPA (especially with the downsizing in 2012). I had also been arrested in 2009 for drinking underage and misdemeanor marijuana possession. So I enlisted at the end of 2012, with legal waivers and an 82 asvab.

I enlisted in 2012 and completed my active duty contract in 2016 with no NJPs, Good Conduct, ESWS, all EPs and MPs, a few letters of appreciation, and achieving the the rank of E-5. I am now in the Reserves and have volunteered for a few mobilization too.

I have just received my Masters Degree in Humanities from a top 5 University (3.4 gpa), completed an internship in Java programming, coach youth soccer, and am a supervisor in my civilian job. I also have a leadership role in my reserve unit as an LPO and command fitness leader.

Although I had a terrible undergrad GPA, would my recent GPA in grad school potentially supersede the lousy undergrad GPA in the eyes of a selection board? Also, my prior legal trouble in 2009 was already documented when I enlisted. I'm hoping that my 6 total years of service of no civil or military trouble will be taken into consideration.