• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Getting in to the Academy

Gooch1911

I am currently a freshman in high school and aspiring to go to the Naval Academy and become a pilot. I have a 4.0 with honors/Pre-AP classes, I have high test scores and am taking the SAT again in may. I am in AFJROTC and got the highest job for sophomores next year and am on track to be Group Commander as a senior. Im also on the golf team (not very good though). IN addition to that I have other things like academic athlete of the year, student ambassadors, National Junior Honor Society, and Kitty Hawk Air Society. Would my application look good so far and what are some other things I can do now to make me a better candidate for appointment and further down get a pilot slot?

yossarian

pilot
You seem to be on the right track but I'm not on the admissions board and 5 years out of commissioning.

http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/USNA 2014 Class Portrait.pdf

That's probably the most accurate picture of incoming freshman and what kind of kid they were in high school. That being said, this question has been asked a bunch on this site so search around a bit. My $.02: do a varsity sport, be good in math, and apply for Summer Seminar if you know you want the Academy this early in high school.

cfam

None
Super Moderator
Contributor