• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

DCO questions

M4 RPh

Licensed Drug Dealer
Hey, ladies and gents. I stumbled across this forum whilst googling and thought I'd stop in. First a bit about me....I'm 35 and I'm a pharmacist from Indiana. The last few years I've been kicking around the idea of serving- sometimes half joking with the Mrs, sometimes googling before bed etc. i finally made a decision at the end of January, so I contacted a navy recruiter to see if the Reserve might be interested.

I figured that since I'm married with a full time job that part time soldiering might be a better fit (and I do of course realize the risk of deployment). The recruiter was very professional and seemed interested- she asked about my medical history, any criminal convictions etc. she stated that the fiscal year for .mil starts in October and that most jobs become available then. She said we could start working on a packet and possibly going to MEPS before that.

I sent her my transcripts and resume but have not heard anything since. Should I wait until October to contact the recruiter again? Once a month just to show I'm still interested? She wasn't overly clear on the process or the steps involved.

unbroken

Naval officer
Welcome!

Definitely do not wait until October (!) Some applications are *due* then. I started filling out my application in March or April, and even working assiduously, it took me a good 5-6 months to get medically cleared, pull a packet together, get letters of rec, etc. So you want to allow yourself as much time as possible.

I would follow up in a week or two if you haven't heard anything.