• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

DCO METOC Eligibility Questions

ocean26

Hello Everyone -

I posted this in the Naval Reserves forum first. Might be more relevant here...

I am a 26-year old graduate student who just a finished a Master's Degree in Chemical Oceanography. I am about to start a PhD in Physical Geography for which I will be transitioning more into Physical Oceanography. I am interested in maybe commissioning as a METOC Officer in the US Navy Reserves through the DCO program after I finish my Doctorate and find a job.

However, as an undergraduate, I was on a Type I Technical AFROTC Scholarship, for which I finished two years. Before Field Training, I declined my slot and elected to leave the program voluntarily which led to my subsequent disenrollment from the program and an Honorable Discharge from the USAF Inactive Reserves at the E-2 grade. Coming out of high school, I turned down appointments to the USAFA, USCGA, and USMA before settling on an AFROTC Scholarship. I am the middle of 5 boys, 3 of which hold commissions in the US Army and 1 who will commission into the USCG out of the academy in 2018. My father was also a hard-line Army officer who retired as an O-5 and thought an officers commission in the US Military was the only and best way forward for his sons.