• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Climbing up the Navy Rank and the ASTB

haymansupperman

I am a college graduate that wants to join the Navy. In particular, I want to become an Information warfare officer. However I am a liberal arts major with a degree in history and Arabic (, which i believed might have given me the advantage). My recruiter told me that it would be harder for me to get that position because technical majors tend to get those slots. He told me that I should take the ASTB and from there we could see how competitive I am. He also suggested that I might want to apply for Surface warfare officer and that from there I could advance to information warfare. This approach bothers me, I am going into the Navy as a career rout. I eventually see myself commanding a ship and if possible becoming an Admiral with a regional command. I was told that the Surface warfare officer is in-charge of the deck. What are chances that I will advance from surface warfare to information warfare? If that is not a good option from surface warfare, can I advance to captain, how much of that is a possibility or even likely? What is the quickest way to climb the ranks if am just starting out? I also heard about a test called the AFOQT, what role will this test play if any in my career goals if any? Also I heard that someone posted their own version of the ASTB after taking it, and that it was on this blog if anyone could direct me to that I would be grateful. I am currently 26 and I want to make the most out of the time I have left.

SWOHopeful