• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Applying for Intel, May board - advice/chances?

nevergreen

Hi Airwarriors, I've been lurking for awhile now and decided to post. I filled out my info on my profile but will expand on that here.

I'm a military dependent, and was homeschooled as a child. Because of this I was able to start college at 14 at the local community college. I graduated with an A.A. at 17, and transferred to the University of Connecticut, where I got my B.A. in English & Political Science (taking mostly IR courses for poli sci) with a 3.87 cumulative GPA. I do have some STEM coursework on my transcript with strong grades as well. I just graduated back in December and am submitting a commissioning package in the coming weeks. I recently took the OAR and scored a 61.

My main concern/question is regarding my age and experience. I am a recent graduate and also even younger than the average recent graduate (currently 20 y/o), which means I am extremely limited in terms of work experience. I had a writing/editorial internship where I created a large alumni newsletter from scratch, writing all the articles/designing everything, I've worked as a copy editor, as a residential assistant, I've tutored (mostly ESL/ELL foreign students) in writing and have about a year of volunteer experience. I also lived abroad for 2.5 years. That's it. I'm aware that I'm up against prior military and people with master's degrees etc. So it almost seems like a waste of time to be worrying about Intel, and I should just put down other designators that I have a good shot of getting.