• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

All about DCO Commissioning Ceremony

iroessle

Cargodog,
My board must've been sometime back in February because I was PRO REC'd back on March 3rd for Engineering Duty Officer. I had my interviews and paperwork all turned in back in November of 2008CE. Never found out what date the actual board was. I think I win the longest, bluest wait award. Went to the uniform shop yesterday and bought my service dress whites. The days are counting down, I'm actually waiting until SEP 25th to swear in. My day job is actually a Civilian working for the Navy and the command I work for is putting a program together. Asked my friend who's a retired Navy Captain to pin me.

Ian

3912DCO

Oh, no! There has been nothing of a steady pace in this process, except the hurry up AND WAIT. I think this has been the most painful process so far, and I have been selected before (and severed) in some very "select" communities and this process has been worse than that.

I like to think I have come up with a good use for my time (and like everyone on this thread seems to say, there is A LOT of it) while I wait for each step of this very long process. I have been focusing on preparing for a really nice commission ceremony. I have had several officers tell me to make it special and not just do it quick and dirty at the recruiter's office.

There are some pretty good resources on the web, so you don't have to re-invent the wheel. There should be enough information out there to help you include some nice Navy Customs and Traditions, to make your day really special and interesting for your guests in attendance.

Here are some of the resources I have found useful: