• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

A day in the life as a CG Aviator?

LivingSacrifice

Hey guys, I was reading around and it looks like there's a ton of good information on here. I'm considering applying for BLUE 21, as I recently completed my bachelor's and I'm a private pilot.

My knowledge of the Coast Guard is limited to what I've been able to find over the course of multiple google searches. I'm trying to get an accurate picture as to what life is like day-to-day as a USCG pilot. The primary reason I would be joining would be to fly. At this point I have no idea what collateral duties are (or specifically, what examples of them are).

I read in another post that helo pilots average 25-35 hours a month. What's the rest of the time look like? If I'm coming in with zero military experience, do you any of you guys have any insight as to what the path looks like (what different steps I'd go through before actually getting assigned somewhere)?

Thanks!

LivingSacrifice

Hey Spanky, thanks for the reply. That's the vibe I'm getting from many Coasties who have posted on boards like this, and honestly, what makes me think that I'm missing out by not doing it.

One thing I'm pretty concerned about is being borrowed by another branch and shipped overseas. Is that something you've seen happen? Or do you know how often it happens?

Oh, and how much control do you have over where you end up? I know it's kind of the luck of the draw because it's based on the CG's needs, but do they try to accomodate you or are you just stuck with what they give you?

CoastieFlyer

Box Lunch Connoisseur
pilot