• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

27 May 2012

djguernsey

Pro-Rec SNA - OCS Class Date 27 May 2012
22/Male/Non-Prior/SNA

from Los Angeles, CA. Also I'll probably be driving.

djguernsey

No one has started a Facebook group that I know of yet.

Care to share what you mean by "been to OCS before"? Just curious.

z5levi

Sure thing. First and foremost, my name is Zachary Levi and I have been to OCS before. My class was class 12-11 and I began on 03APR2011. I was in the regiment for three days before I was NPQ'd for eyesight. It turns out that even though I've been flying for six years (with 20-20 eyesight mind you) I had astigmatism. Total bummer. I got to the last of four eye charts before we found this out. I was left with a few extraordinarily lame options. 1. Re-designate to NFO and essentially be locked in that career path for the duration of my career. I feel that I would have essentially been clipping my own wings for the foreseeable future and don't even know that I would have been able to make it through OCS had I re-designated. 2. DOR, to get an NPQ. Which sounds ridiculous and was one of the hardest things I can remember doing (I opted to leave and have corrective surgery, re-apply, and come back strong) and finally, 3. Struggle for seven weeks only to be pressured into re-designating or simply be honorably discharged.