• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NEWS GI Bill funded flight training to be discontinued....

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Well, that's some bullshit. Sounds like standard government overreaction, and I would imagine, some VA bureaucrats who have no idea how much flight training costs.

Hopefully this will get sorted in the near future.

Beans

*1. Loins... GIRD
pilot
Damn! I was gonna do that! Just to fill out my certs... MEI, airplane instrument, etc... damn.

nittany03

Recovering NFO. Herder of Programmers.
pilot
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Fucking awesome. There went the last year's worth I was going to use after I got my Masters.

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
At first this affected only Helo part 141 programs - but now it looks like all flight training under GI Bill to be cancelled...http://popularmilitary.com/va-sends-notice-veterans-canceling-tuition-payments-flight-schools/

I am slightly wary that this affects all flight training funded by the GI Bill, I just did a search and the only other news story that claims this uses the same sources and said it was university-based flight training programs affected. I would assume that this sort of news would get a little more attention or some sort of announcement by the VA?

sevenhelmet

Low calorie attack from the Heartland
pilot
Guess I need to squirrel away that emergency "Oh shit gotta get that ATP" fund after all.

zippy

Freedom!
pilot
Contributor
If true, the attitude wouldn't be surprising- "oh, this benefit is costing us money? Quick cancel it!"