• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Mental health waiver for USUHS/HPSP/FAP?

mushroom21

I am a sophomore in high school and I am very interested in the military. I would like to become a physician preferably through USUHS or the HPSP program. A few days ago out of shear curiosity, I looked up medical disqualifications for the military. I’m extremely scared now that I won’t be able to join because of a few past mental health problems. My father molested me when I was 12 and I became depressed and developed a slight eating disorder. I know at one point I was diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder. I was hospitalized 3 times for medicine adjustments and for supposed suicidal ideation (I told the doc that I was wondering what life would be like with out me. Kind of a normal query). I have been on only Zoloft since and in therapy but I will try to get off of them by my sixteenth birthday and today I arranged with my therapist to widen the time between appointments. I am completely psychiatrically stable and have been since I was 14 and 1/2. This was only for a three year period of my 12, 13, and 14 years of age. I feel it was an isolated incident and it ended concurrently with my father’s incarceration. I also did have a diagnosis of PTSD but never had flashbacks. That diagnosis has been dropped. I feel it would have been more disturbing for me not to react in this way to sexual abuse. Is there any compassion for victims/survivors? I’ve wanted this my whole life. My father took so much of my childhood and it makes me distressed to think he could grab hold of my future too. I understand I have some years down the road before I join, but I am worried sick. Is a waiver possible at this point? I understand also that the needs of