• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Any advice for transitioning to the Air National Guard?

pdx

HSM Pilot
After 11.5 years on active duty, I'm getting out soon.

Has anyone made the transition to Air National Guard? I'm a helo pilot (HSM), and I am specifically looking at the 129th Rescue Wing near San Francisco.

I feel like I have a pretty good understanding of how to transition to the Navy Reserve, but the ANG is unknown territory. Even among the FW pilots in my air wing, I don't personally know anyone who has made that transition. I have heard second hand accounts that it can be done, but that's about it.

I started reaching out to people on baseops.net, but I would be grateful for any stories or contacts that anyone has around here

jollygreen07

Professional (?) Flight Instructor
pilot
Contributor
As a Naval Officer it will take at least a year to get switched over. I'm looking into the NCANG myself and what I'm hearing is that you have to get a full-on MEPS physical and the AF medical process is complicated and convoluted at best. Get hired and get started making the transition right away. There are plenty of Navy/Marine Officers that have done it, so it's not uncharted territory. The unit's officer recruiter should be able to guide you through it.

pdx

HSM Pilot
Thanks,

I'm contacting the recruiter now. It doesn't surprise me at all that the medical/administrative process is convoluted.

When you say "get hired," is possible to start working for a unit before you are actually cleared to fly? I would have assumed that you would have to be selected as a pilot in order to affiliate with the unit.

Buffalo

pilot