• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Reserves and PLC

Jspav

I'm an incoming freshman this fall and I've been talking with both an elisted recruiter and a officer selection officer. My end goal is to become an officer but I'm curious if enlisting in the reserves while in college will benefit me in any way whether it be in the PLC selection process or just the experience. The enlisted recruiter is telling me that going through the reserves then applying for PLC is a more beneficial route when it comes to being selected opposed the officer selection officer who recommends against it. I found a post discussing the exact same predicament but it was from a few years ago and I'm curious if some aspects would have changed since then.

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
...My end goal is to become an officer but I'm curious if enlisting in the reserves while in college will benefit me in any way whether it be in the PLC selection process or just the experience. The enlisted recruiter is telling me that going through the reserves then applying for PLC is a more beneficial route when it comes to being selected opposed the officer selection officer who recommends against it...

Not knowing anything about current Marine recruiting I would go with the advice to the Officer recruiter and not the enlisted one, especially if your end goal is being an officer. Remember that the enlisted recruiter is worried about enlisting folks, not if they become an officer. I am not saying recruiters lie but the truth can often change....

Jspav