• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB-E/APEX 4 Experience -DEC 2013

Ben Welch

Took the test last week Thursday and just wanted to give what gouge I can and add to what has already been said. A bit about my background, I am a merchant marine engineer and a LTJG in the Navy Reserves. Although I am an engineer, all my professional experience in the past 3 years since grad has been hands-on operational with MSC cargo ships. I do have about 60 hours of flight time as well in a small plane. I ponied this format off of caburt1 from a previous post.

I started my prep about a week prior but nothing too extensive maybe an hour a night if that. I bought an SAT math book and the Military Flight Aptitude Tests book 8th edition by Perterson’s from Barnes and Noble. I used the SAT book for extra practice questions in the appropriate categories. I suggest doing this as it will keep you flexible with the math section. The other sections (reading comprehension, mechanical comprehension, Naut. and Air comprehension) I referred to the Flight Aptitude Book for practice, during the test the questions turned out to be close to the same as to what were in the book.

THE TEST

Math

This section was a worry for me, as I think it is for most people who take it. I am in operations so I don’t necessarily use math on a regular basis despite being an engineer and when I do I use a calculator heavily, so relearning hand math was a bit more of a challenge then I thought.