• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

When should I get PRK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeAE2005

I'm currently 19 years old, in my 4th semester of college (I'm a sophomore), and would like to get in the BDCP. My vision does not currently meet the requirements, so I need to get PRK. Should I go ahead and get it as soon as possible, and then apply for BDCP? Is it even possible to get into BDCP before I get the PRK surgery done?

I'd like to get my name on the "list" for BDCP ASAP. Keep in mind I am 19, is that too young for PRK? My vision hasn't changed for about at least a year and a half, so I'm thinking it's not going to change anymore. Is it safe for me to get PRK then?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

-Joe

theblakeness

Charlie dont surf!
pilot
im not exactly sure what the Navy would say about it, but I know my eye doctor said that If I were to get a PRK I should wait as long as possible because your eyes are expected to go through the most change during the ages of 18 to 22.

Im in the same boat as you. My last eye check (about 8 months ago) gave me 20/40 correctable to 20/20, which is still within the limits, but I dont know if its gotten any worse since then.

I think your best bet is to contact a Navy Doctor.

Im sure someone with more experiance then this can answer this better.

JoeAE2005

18-22 years old? I'm not sure if I can wait till I'm 22. I will be out of college by that time. 19 seems kind of early, but my vision has not changed for almost 2 years now, and neither has my height (if that matters). Any other opinions? I guess I will ultimately have to consult a doctor about this one...

-Joe

flyinmonkey