• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Tips for running because I suck.

Jaquel

Thanks for all of the info guys. It seems I'm doing a ton of things wrong. I'm really new to most things athletic and just seemed to jump right into running, so it looks like I've left out a whole bunch of important things. I'm going to need to stay hydrated on days I run and eat my arch-nemesis: the banana. Also I've really only been doing situps, what should I be doing in terms of back excercises?

Widow43-NICK

I think the best way to get the most out of Aerobic training is to warm-up correctly. Try training at 0830 or early morning. I warm up for approx 800m with a slow jog with walks every 100m for a few seconds while stopping to stretch off. Then set off into a gentle jog steadliy getting into your comfort zone. After 10 mins normal jogging. increase to 65%-70% for ten mins. You want to be looking at the amount of time that you are training for rather than the distance covered. Basic fitness is ideal at 40 mins steady state running. Increase your heart rate by sprinting inbetween lamp posts or traffic lights etc then walk, then jog, then sprint etc. Enjoy

Jynx

*Placeholder*
Contributor
I've really only been doing situps, what should I be doing in terms of back excercises?
Things you really would want to consider adding would include leg lifts (wherein you keep your back on the floor and raise your legs). This targets lower abs.