• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS Stuck at OTCN, disqualified from aviation and forced to go SWO or to DOR

Status
Not open for further replies.
I graduated OCS recently, however, just got medically disqualified from aviation and have been given two options. DOR or redes to SWO. I’ve heard a lot of bad things about going SWO and even the SWO’s I’ve talked to told me to avoid going Surface Warfare. Is it worth doing 4 years of SWO? What is the lifestyle like?

Having been wanting to fly so so many years and also hearing about how shitty SWOs have it really discourages me from accepting my commission but I wanted to get more input

Also I was only given two options, to go SWO or to DOR. This is because I have not been officially commissioned yet. I would love to try and go Spec War or EOD

Deep down I truly don’t want to go SWO, like it was my worst fear during my 12 weeks at OCS. At the same time, it’s hard to turn down the O1 pay and benefits and also worrying about getting a RE-3K slapped onto my documents if I want to join another branch or something.

Last edited:

Griz882

Frightening children with the Griz-O-Copter!
pilot
Contributor
Take your commission and go SWO. The life isn’t that bad and you will learn some skill that will serve you well in later life. “Naval Officer” carries weight on a resume and shows any employer that you can adapt to new tasks. You will get some benefits that you can carry through life and a leg up if you decide to become a federal employee.