• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USN Shore Tour Opportunities

PilotSteve

Hello All,

Looking for some information regarding possible billets for a shore tour and peoples experience. I'm currently a P8 pilot and may not be looking to stay on the 'golden path'. I was wondering if there are jobs in the navy other than VP IP/ VT IP that would add to the resume for opportunities outside the military eventually? My wife is originally from Hawaii and am wondering how to get a shore tour out there? Thanks for the information.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Hello All,

Looking for some information regarding possible billets for a shore tour and peoples experience. I'm currently a P8 pilot and may not be looking to stay on the 'golden path'. I was wondering if there are jobs in the navy other than VP IP/ VT IP that would add to the resume for opportunities outside the military eventually? My wife is originally from Hawaii and am wondering how to get a shore tour out there? Thanks for the information.
PMRF on Kauai operates several RC-26 aircraft. I know that a couple of the assigned pilots have VP backgrounds.

PilotSteve

Thanks! Do you all know of any non-flying billets out in Hawaii and/or non-flying jobs that look good outside the military? Trying to weigh options but set myself up for success if I choose to not make flying a lifetime career.

IKE

Nerd Whirler
pilot
No one cares what job you had - do what you think will be fun/interesting.
This; especially if it's non-flying.

If you're aiming for a non-flying post-Navy job, the best thing you can do during your shore tour is educate yo-self. I have a JO going through UVA's Darden MBA program, and I've seen few get real technical MSes.