• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Rewarding or Mundane

Status
Not open for further replies.

C-40CC

TRASH HAULER FOR LIFE!
I am currently working on an OCS app to cross into the "O" side of the house. I would really like to be a pilot since I have spent the last 8 yrs as an aircrewman, but I think that my age may hold me back even with a waiver request. My other choice I was leaning toward was AMDO community, since I have a lot of MX experience---will the job be rewarding or just a real drag?

2sr2worry

Naval Aviation=world's greatest team sport
In Jax you have wealth of senior AMDO's to chat with. The XO of FRC SE, the Production Officer of FRC SE, and the NAS Jax AIMD Officer. I suggest you make an appointment to see one or all of them and ask if they think their 20+ years of service has been "rewarding or just a real drag." I think I already know the answer.

C-40CC

TRASH HAULER FOR LIFE!
Thank you for the info, I will have request an appointment with one or all if possible, I work at HGR 1000 anyway so I may have passed the AIMD officer in the passageway and not even known it.

scoober78

(HCDAW)
pilot
Contributor
Hello....you don't mention how old you are...but I have about the same amount of time in the Navy as you do and am about 3 months into Primary in Corpus. I was comissioned at 27.5 so it can be done. Don't let age alone discourage you.

C-40CC

TRASH HAULER FOR LIFE!
Thanks for the encouraging word, I am not discouraged yet. But at 31 I think my window is just about closed. I love the aviation side of the Navy and I want to be an officer as well. I am just looking at another career field possibility.

HAL Pilot

None
Contributor