• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Research and Development

Status
Not open for further replies.

elan_alvey

i'm currently a freshman in college studying to be an electrical engineer. i'm just wondering if there were any R&D jobs. I talked to a recruiter and all he told me i could do was to be a nuclear engineer, but that's not really what i was looking for. My dad is a retired navy officer and told me of places like china lake etc... can anyone help me find out how to get more information about this? Also, will the navy cover for tuition for me being an engineer? i also have a medical question. will having an stomach ulcer cause me to be disqualified? my family had a house fire and it caused a lot of stress, but i took some medication and it cleared it up. it'll be about 6 years from the time i graduate since i've had it.

thanks,
elan alvey

geerst

Hello Elan,

The ulcer is not a problem, as long as it does not become active again.

Your recruiter was correct in stating the only R&D job the Navy has is nuke engineer. The government employs civil servants who are engineers and scientists, working with the Navy at many exciting places and on lots of cool projects. As a Naval officer, your primary job is to be an officer, a leader of men. You secondary job is to be a pilot, or a doctor, or whatever. If you want pure R&D, go government service.

Hope this helps,
LCDR Geers

elan_alvey

Thanks LCDR Geers for answering my question.
I also have another question... What is a Aviation Maintnance Officer? Would i be on a ship or would i be at an airstation? i've also herd rumors that you can sign a contract about where your first duty station will be, is that true?

thanks,
elan alvey

geerst

Elan,