• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Question about flying Navy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boss_BlueAngels

Instrument training
I'm just a high school student considering joining the Navy in a few years once I'm a Junior in college, and would just like to know how (if at all) having an instrument, multiengine, and CFII rating would help in getting a position to fly Hornets. I've had people say it does, and doesn't make too much of a difference, but those of you who have been there, I'd just like some advice. lol :) I'm about 3/4 of the way just to getting my private ticket before I enter college right now and just LOVE flying. (So, I wouldn't be taking it in college only for the Navy... if that didnt' work out somehow I've got other ways I can go.)

But enough with that... thanks for any advice or whatever. :)
God bless,
Jason

Boss_BlueAngels

Instrument training
Well, like I said earlier, I'm still going to shoot for those ratings regardless of whether or not I decide to go military because I've decided a long time ago my career was going to be flying... I'm trying to work it out now so I have as MANY options open to me as possible... right now I'm looking at about 6. I was also wondering if the Navy recruiter I spoke with knew what he was talking about. LOL!! He was. :)

But... wouldn't having a good understanding of the principals and ideas at least help out personally? lol I know it'd be totally different aircraft and all. :)

Thanks again so much for your replies!
God bless

ghost_ttu