• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

practice time in primary?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bpikula

I guess this question is primarily for Lt JG Wickham, Lt JG Steve Wilkins, and the rest of the experts, but everyone will probably get a chuckle. I have no experience at all flying a plane. In primary while learning procedures for emergencies you rehearse in the simulators, correct? Do you also get to practice the "monkey skills" while in the simulators? I have no idea how to do a coordinated turn (when do you need to use the rudder, add power, trim etc.?) much less a landing pattern. They let my ACEs group play around in the sims and they were tough! The T-34 was much easier to fly using the horizon instead of instruments like the sims. I know I'm a worrier, but I've always wondered if you actually practice flying in the sims before jumping in the plane doing it for real. Seems it would make things easier. Thanks guys.

Tahoe

Matt!!

I think that's the most I've heard you say in one breath...good work! Serious though, that is great info. The most flying I get is travel weekly around the US for work. It's great to know that everything you'll need is taught.

-Dave

bpikula