• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO or SWO to JAG

redsox4516

Hey Guys,

First post. I am a law student who is about to graduate at the end of the month. I am currently finishing up my Application Package, (I took the ASTB today actually, 54/6/6/6) The recruiter mentioned to me that I could hope to transfer to JAG after a few year. I wasn't sure if that was a realistic statement or not. (Ive applied to JAG 4 times, got denied each.)

To be clear, I am applying to be an NFO, SWO or an Intel Officer to be those officers. I am NOT applying in the hopes of a later transfer. But I was just curious to see if the statement was at all accurate.

Thanks

Hozer

Jobu needs a refill!
None
Contributor
In short: Not gonna happen. Generally, you have to earn your warfare designator in your initial field (Aviation, SWO, etc) before you'd be considered for lat transfer.
2+ years, then a recommendation from your command, blah, blah, blah...

Don't want to burst your bubble, but they've got too much invested in you to train you then let you do something else.
Does it happen? Yes, but it's a small number of folks.

Fwiw, some of the best civilian lawyers I know were military Officers in unrelated fields: Aviation, Infantry, etc.

Good luck.

redsox4516

In short: Not gonna happen. Generally, you have to earn your warfare designator in your initial field (Aviation, SWO, etc) before you'd be considered for lat transfer.
2+ years, then a recommendation from your command, blah, blah, blah...

Don't want to burst your bubble, but they've got too much invested in you to train you then let you do something else.
Does it happen? Yes, but it's a small number of folks.