• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

New Marine

Status
Not open for further replies.

postman8

Hello there,

This is my first time back to this board since shipping to OCS on June 2nd. I was commissioned on Aug 9th and am currently enjoying some leave before reporting to TBS on Aug 30th. For all of you on here who are still on the civilian side of things trying to get your questions answered and doing soul searching about going or not, let me just say that while the word "awesome" is immensely over used in our society, the time at OCS and becoming an actual Marine are just that- AWESOME, in the true sense of the word. It is not for everyone, our platoon started with 41 and finished with 28. Attrition for the whole company was about 50%. I'm not saying that to brag, I'm saying it to let people thinking about this now that: 1) It is hard 2) It is doable, if give it a 100% and don't quit. As a 2nd Lt, I don't know much of anything about anything except for OCS, but feel free ask any questions you have, and I'll do my best to answer. Here's some advice I received before shipping to OCS from a Marine friend and boy was it true: Never miss an opportunity to eat, sleep, or change your socks. For the most part they take care of eating for you, but be sure to sleep as much as possible as soon as lights go out- don't stay up late studying- the rest is most important and take care of your feet the vast majority of injuries which sent people home were of the feet, so break in your boots good before going and keep your feet clean and dry as much as possible down there. Oorah.

Tessone