• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

New Guy

Status
Not open for further replies.

CASPA

Hello
I am new to the forum. I am interested in the BDCP and I need some info like how do i get started. I am a Mechanical Engineering student transfering to the University of Missouri in the fall 2003 from Illinois. I have a gpa of about 2.9 right now but wont know till the end of the semester. I am interested in any way the Navy can help me finish my last 2-2.5 years of school so I can become a Naval Officer. I really want to become a Navy Pilot but don't know about the eye exam since I wear glasses. I really would like to get everything started as soon as i can, if anyone knows about and websites or people I can contact any help will be greatly appreciated.

WFU2USN

CASPA,

First of all, you need to contact a Navy Officer Recruiter - use the recruiter locater at www.navy.com - you type in your zip code and (I think) in smaller writing toward the bottom of the page, it indicates the Officer recruiter phone number.

BDCP/OCS are very competitive right now. Your GPA may hurt, so keep working on it - the higher the better!!!! They may also look at you differently bc you're in an engineering program.

The officer recruiter will set you up to take the ATSB - look under that section on this forum to get advice on preparing for it. You want to do VERY well on this test, esp. given your sub-3.0 gpa.

You'll also do a physical, Physical Readiness Test, write a personal statement, complete MANY forms, get letters of recommendation, submit transcripts as part of this process.

I hope that helps.

:)Robin
IS2(SCW)

CASPA