• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

My Path to BDCP Acceptence (Intel)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Logico

I am currently in the BDCP program for Intel and will begin OCS in February 2006. For those interested I will briefly summarize how I got accepted and offer some advice based upon my experience for what it is worth.

So-called ‘stats’
OAR = 43
GPA = 3.0
Degree in ‘Philosophy’ from University of Missouri—Kansas City
PT = average score (at least for a 28 year old :) )

My OAR was low because I didn’t know about the ASTB.gouge files available here on Airwarriors. So I took the test pretty much with no studying. My recruiter told me that I would have to get higher than that so I studied and re-took the test and got another 43. Like any average, my GPA hides the fact that if you look at my transcript there are several semesters when I began college where I failed a bunch of classes. Recent semesters are all A’s. I made a point in my motivation statement to explain that. It is difficult to know whether my degree in ‘Philosophy’ helped or hurt me since most people (including most of you reading this) have no idea what the field consists of.

On this web-site it seems that people often assess the probability of themselves and others getting accepted into BDCP using these three ‘stats’. This is a big mistake. Look at my stats…they aren’t outstanding. So how did I get in?

1. I got VERY STRONG education related letters of recommendation from 4 of my professors.

2. I got VERY STRONG professional letters of recommendation from my previous boss at my previous employer.