• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

marine corps engineering

Lord Doog

Hey guys, I'm new to this site, so please bear with me. I have a question that maybe someone can help me out with. I'm studying aerospace engineering in college right now (currently a junior) and I'm considering joining the Marines as a pilot and hopefully an aerospace/aeronautical engineer within the Corps (I want to be a Marine, but I also want to give it my best, which is the aero engineering field). I know the Marines have it, its MOS 8820. I've done as much homework on it as I can, and now I've come here. My question is, does anyone know anything about this MOS, such as how I can get it, when will I be able to get it, additional duties besides engineering, etc. Basically any information would be helpful to me. I already went to the usmilitary.about.com site, so if anyone has any experience with this MOS, or knows anyone in this MOS and can tell me about it and how I can get it? Even better, can anyone give me the contact info of a Marine Aeronautical Engineer so I can contact them myself with other questions? Thanks a lot!

phrogdriver

More humble than you would understand
pilot
Super Moderator
Aerospace engineer is not a primary MOS in the Marine Corps, i.e. you will not get that right out of TBS. You will do at least a tour or two as a pilot, infantry O, supp-O, commo, whatever.