• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Home Defense rounds

nittany03

Recovering NFO. Herder of Programmers.
pilot
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Frankly, for home defense, the M4gery is totally unnecessary - it does look awesome though.
FTFY. I'm not a lawyer, but I would forsee a MUCH easier time being able to justify the use of a stock pistol or pump-action shotgun if, God forbid, I had to defend myself from a home invasion using deadly force. There's no way in hell I'd use an AR for home defense, even if I lived in the sticks and had a clear field of fire. Overpenetration with a rifle round is huge, unless you live alone on a farm. And worse, you're going to have to defend your use of an "evil" weapon that "no one needs to have" in front of a hostile prosecutor. And even if they pass, you'll have to answer to a hostile media who's out to tar and feather your extremist teabagger ass for having the macho gall to defend yourself with a firearm. Especially if you and your attacker do not share the same complexion.

In today's political climate, I'd keep the EBR in the safe and take multiple classes from reputable instructors before even thinking about using a stock and only stock firearm in self-defense. Anything less, and it seems that the legal bills and/or the media will rip your life apart. This rant could become a multi-page paper, but 'nuff said.

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
We can split the thread if we want. Personally I think it's an interesting topic to discuss. I did a little (very little) research into it one day at work and it seems like if you use the right round, you're looking at only going through two walls if you miss. That's probably as good or better than a 9mm with the wrong round.