• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Elk

E5B

Lineholder
pilot
Super Moderator
Before I get to the hunt a little background is in order. 13 years ago I was working for a rancher near Ft Davis doing day work and predator calling. When I graduated college and went back on active duty I had to leave the ranch and move on but the rancher and good friend told me he wanted to be to kill a big elk. At that time we had noticed a substantial elk heard in that area of the Davis Mountains...all free range. Well, fast forward 13 years....I'm finally able to put a trip together during the rut. I find a Marine buddy here in North Carolina to go with me (he had never been to Texas other than a layover and had never killed anything bigger than a duck) and we began our planning months ago. Last week we loaded up my Dodge and set out for a 27 hour drive from coastal NC to Ft Davis Tx. Our plan, while probably not the smartest, was to drive straight through and take turns sleeping to utilize every bit of the small leave window we had. So, we set out at 0600 and made it to Ft Davis at 1400 with a few stops in between. Dog tired, we decided to unpack the pickup and hit the range so we could get to it the next day. On the way to the range the rancher and an outfitter ran into us and decided to go to the range with us. (the outfitter was there scouting for hunts not associated with my hunt, but boy was I lucky he was there) On the way to the range they talked us into doing a little glassing on the way back to the bunkhouse. After the range (now 1530 or so) all four of us find the rim of a canyon and sit down in order to listen for bugle or cow calls. After a solid two and half hours we decide to hit another spot and glassed it for about an hour a