• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Deregulation Act of 1978, reversed?

123Fly

I am working on a paper and wondered what you guys thought on the subject. It is about the Degregulation Act of 1978, and how would the airline industry change if it were reversed? Due to the rising fuel prices and the new security issues since 9/11, would we the consumer be better off if it was once again regulated?

DanMa1156

Is it baseball season yet?
pilot
Contributor
I'm no expert in anything, especially the airlines, but we've done alot of airline economics in some of my economics classes. Take the Air Canada model for example, they are run like a private company and basically are, but are given a government owned monopoly and are given subsidies. It's set up similarly to our Amtrak. The difference however is infrastructure, planes don't fly on "tracks," which are costly and inhibit growth in the market and are generally undesireable to a town, but rather operate up high, where there is considerably less disturbance and relative cost. Air Canada is a failing business, but it shouldn't be -- people in Canada want to fly, (ie: there is a demand for it) but they aren't because there is too much government intervention; forcing them to keep prices at certain levels. If you let it be run like our airline industry in America, it would work fine in the long run; eventually, the lowest cost competitors would succeed in creating the largest market niche and would survive. There are other considerations, though, like perhaps service that requires rural routes and don't have much demand, but are perhaps necessary (pretty much why we have a government-runned postal system), but in the United States, this doesn't appear to be a problem, and if it wer