• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Computer Scientist working in Research/Development Navy Reserve Officer options

Hi, I'm a computer scientist currently working in a research and development role as a civilian government employee for the DoD/Navy (i.e. I work on a Naval Research Base). I am trying to research and discover my possible options for a Direct Commission into the Navy Reserves as an Officer. I have already started to talk to a Reserve Officer Recruiter and he has supplied me with some initial documents describing the various DCO programs.

My issue comes with the Information Warfare Community. I was originally thinking I could apply for Intel/Cryptologic/IP but the program descriptions refer to "intelligence experience" (intelligence analysts, collections managers, national security policy advisors, etc.) and STEM degrees/experience in "hard sciences".

I'm not sure computer science fits the "hard science" descriptor and I don't think I could describe my work as "intelligence" based on the example jobs they listed. I work mainly on military defense systems programs and projects.

Another option would be Supply Corps - In the document my recruiter gave me, the Supply Corps description included experience in "research/development". I'm wondering if I fit better into this Reserve program, however, I can't find much information online about "research/development supply officers". The information I find is mostly about acquisition work (which I could fit possibly - I'm required to maintain DAWIA certs and I have a B.S. in Technology Management in addition to my CompSci degree).