• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Commissioning Routes

Status
Not open for further replies.

JKD

I want to get some feedback on the route I'm taking to applying for a commission.

I'm a Navy Veteran with 2 years active duty. I was an AE3 at time of discharge.
I've re-enlisted in the Naval Reserve under the AGP program as an IS2 (November 2002). I'll be attending BRIT for a year, before my rate of IS will be permanent.
I work full time and attend online courses (full time load) with University of Phoenix.
I graduate in September of 2004.

My question is, at what point should I start working towards a commissioning package. I know this has to involve my command, because I am already in the Navy. With being "under instruction" for the first year, my evals are going to be listed as "not observed."
I've heard it is good to start early when applying (as soon as junior year in some cases), but in my current position, would it be better to wait until I have more time in my command?
Also, I have not decided if I want to apply for OCS - active duty or a direct conversion in the reserves. I eventually want to go active duty. The commissioning process could be a good time to make the change.

any comments or suggestions? Does anyone (especially recruiters) see any flaws in my logic?
thanks,

AZSkegee

Go see your CCC, applying now is great , Try to take your ASTB test and score good on it, and finish out in 2004 strong. As far as recieving a slot or anything your CCC would really know more about that matter. I know you need to have the CO's recommendation and time at your command should not be too much of a problem (2 or 3 months let them get an idea of how you are)

WFU2USN

dsweeney,