• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

CG Flight Advice

parrothead08

KCCO
pilot
Brunes covered what I did. I was a deck watch officer too. Similar jobs. The people who have failed out recently have been to sent to New Orleans or Mobile to work in the sector / district command center. One girl did two tours on a ship, asked to go back to a ship, and they sent her to New Orleans.

I agree with taco09 on the DCA situation. It's pretty damn hard to do right now.

It's a quality of life thing. All the DCAs I've talked to said they got tired of the constant deployments/being away from family. One of my IPs was about to put on O-4, got picked up for the DCA program and dropped to O-2 in the CG. Said he woulnd't change a thing.

I've heard rumors that Big CG wants more "homegrown" aviators despite the fact it's cheaper to use DCAs.

You have to finish your service obligation. The Navy isn't going to spend 2 years and a million(s) of dollars training you and then immediately let you switch services. Haha.

Our wait times have been much longer than the other services. The whole thing is cyclic though. In a year, there will be no wait but the Navy will have to wait 8 months. Then it goes back. Just depends on when you happen to fall into the program.

parrothead08

KCCO
pilot
I'm a US Merchant Marine Academy Graduate and Air Guard member looking at the option of Coast Guard flight. I see two options that I know of.