• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Applying for a Naval Commission

fccpopeye

This is for those interested in applying for a commission as a Naval Officer. Those already in the process may also get some good gouge here so please take a look.

Some background on myself: I am a Senior Chief Petty Officer in the Navy, with almost 23 years active, currently working as a Naval Officer Recruiter. I work with all persons applying for a commission with the exception of the medical/dental/nurse programs. I have also had a couple of tours recruiting on the enlisted side so I am also very familiar with the process there. My rate is Fire Control, Surface Warfare qualified, with various ship tours from destroyers to an oilier (I even spent time on a submarine). I also earned my Officer of the Deck Underway qualification on my last ship tour. I am very Pro-Navy and live by the core values, Honor, Courage and Commitment. I state this now so all who read this will know that I will state it like it is and I do not believe in “sugar coating” anything. So, that being said;

Applying for a commission is a long process. Anyone who has already been through the process can vouch for this. It is different for each person, so please do not expect the same process as the last person. It should be similar but most definitely will not be the same. Why is this? Everyone is different, different goals, backgrounds, desires, programs, etc.