• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Advice for PCS/Living at the Q.

Status
Not open for further replies.

goplay234

Hummer NFO
None
Everyone,
I am about to move to Pcola and went to my move meeting with the personal property people. They said I should store my stuff in non-temp storage while I am in school? I am an SNFO. Should I say forget that and grab my stuff and get an apt or should I stay at the Q? I am confused. They made it sound like that's what I should do. Do follow on orders to Intermediate allow for a PCS? Many questions, no answers please help. My original idea was to stay at the Q until I got settled and then get an apt. If that sounds crazy let me know. I am totally confused at this point. I have never done a move before. Any help would be appreciated.

bch

Helo Bubba
pilot
Here is my opinion, and it is just that an opinion.
I lived in the Q during API, it was new, clean, nice and well furnished. Pcola is a nice base, so it was not like living in the slums. This was from March to the end of June this year.

That being said I am an SNA so I was only there for 3 mos. You being a SNFO are going to be there a good deal longer. If you want all of your stuff down there, then PCS and get a place out on town, if you don't care, the Q is real convienient (especially on early mornings LOL).

Anytime the Navy moves you out of the area... ie Intermediate they will PCS you, so don't worry about that part of it.

Best of luck

Fly Navy

...Great Job!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Not so fast bch. Not all moves are PCS. If it's a move of under 6 months, it's a TDY move. Example: API for SNAs. A SNFOs API move will be PCS since their Primary is also at NASP.

bch

Helo Bubba
pilot