• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Visitors and Holidays at OCS

Jesse Varela

I'm reporting to OCS on October 9, and I was directed to this website to start finding out all of the details about what I'll be going through. I have no prior military experience, but it seems a lot of the information I need is already here. However, I didn't see anything about having visitors at some point during the course or what happens during the holidays. I'm sure there aren't really any exciting options for having anyone visit me during training, but I was just wondering what allowances there were for this, if any. Also, has anyone here gone through this course through the holidays or know someone who has? I'm just wondering mainly about Christmas. Do you just get the day off to relax or is there some kind of celebration?

Any input would be greatly appreciated; thanks in advance!

VTFlyer

Just for an initial reply.....I'm pretty sure you can't have visitors during the course of OCS but during Christmas you will have a stand down period where you will get time off. I'm sure someone else can clarify further on the details.

Angry

NFO in Jax
None
I will be at OCS this holiday season as well (30OCT class), and there was a discussion in the forum a week or two ago around this subject. I remember a few recent OCS graduates saying the holiday stand down lasted for a two week period that encompassed both Christmas and New Years, and while they didn't receive liberty for Thanksgiving the schedule was less rigorous than usual. That info is based solely on memory though, I am sure someone with recent experience or more accurate knowledge can give us additional specifics.

fattestfoot

In it for the naked volleyball