• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Running time

Clements

I'm a sophomore in high school (so I have a little bit of time to improve). I want to try to get into NROTC but I am not sure if I can make it, mostly because of my 1.5 mile time. I can run the 1.5 mile in 10:52. Are there any good tips or exercises that I can do to improve, or should I just simply run more?

Tycho_Brohe

pilot
Contributor
Mix it up. Do some fartleks, some long slow distance, sprints, etc. Also I heard core strength improves running, so planks, flutter kicks, 6-90's, crunches, and so on.

SeaBoundRhino

I thought this was America
pilot
That is a respectable time for a beginner, so you are already off to a good start. Now all you have to do is simply run more. Also, do some research, there are plenty of books about running (i.e. pace, cadence, form, etc). I'll second Pags as well, join track and cross country you'll get more than exercise out of it.

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Did the run time get drastically reduced for ROTC? I have never known a sub-11 minute time to be a failure for anything except at the Naval Academy. I thought even the chip trail at API (which used the 17-19 run time) was around 11 minutes.

Like T_B said, I found farleks (or however you spell that) to be a great way to bring my run time down.

Tycho_Brohe

pilot
Contributor
Did the run time get drastically reduced for ROTC? I have never known a sub-11 minute time to be a failure for anything except at the Naval Academy. I thought even the chip trail at API (which used the 17-19 run time) was around 11 minutes.
I was wondering the same thing. For 20-24 y/o males, the PFA standard is 13:30 satisfactory, then 12:00 is a good, and 10:30 is an excellent.