• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Less than -8.0 diopter pre-PRK, Any chances?

sonnyg004

So I just got back from my flight physical where I was disqualified due to having -8.75 and -8.50 for my eyes before I went in for PRK. From all the indications I'm getting is that this is the end of the road for me regarding this career path. I'm OK with it as I know I'll be happy as long as I'm a Marine Officer. There's a lot of great jobs on the ground side. However I've gotten a huge amount of great info from this forum over the last few months and I wanted to give one last shot before I gave up on this. So does anyone know of anyone getting a waiver for the -8.0 diopter limit or is there any indication that this limit will be removed in the near future? I appreciate any info you all can give. Thanks!

torpedo0126

this will probably piss you off, but the excimer laser has the ability to correct beyond -8.75 it just has not been approved by the FDA (at least thats what my doc told me).

Are you disqualified as a Marine NFO? Marine NFOs are going away so I don't know where you are in your pipeline

ea6bflyr

Working Class Bum
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I had a student that was DQ by DODMERB because his diopters were greater than 8.0. He joined the NROTC, got the PRK and when he was selected for the scholarship, he passed the DODMERB with 20/20 eyesight. YMMV.

-ea6bflyr ;)

torpedo0126

I had a student that was DQ by DODMERB because his diopters were greater than 8.0. He joined the NROTC, got the PRK and when he was selected for the scholarship, he passed the DODMERB with 20/20 eyesight. YMMV.

-ea6bflyr ;)