• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

HELP!! OAR Section

aw3433

Hi, I'm new to the thread and just recently took my OAR section (section 4) of the ASTB for the first time. I had a very low score (38) :( and want to improve my score drastically to be competitive in the Officer program.

I was coasting on the exam until I reached the Mechanical section of the exam and was totally floored by the questions. I had been studying for over 2 months prior to the exam using the Barons Military Flight Aptitude Test, the gouges on this website and I had seemed pretty confident going in until I took the exam. The questions seemed similar but were completely different from the book and gouges. I was not prepared for what came after. I can honestly say this was the section that destroyed me as I guessed almost all the answers in this section. :confused::eek:

Does anyone have any advice or study material I can use so I can improve my score and on the Mechanical Section? Becoming a Naval Officer has been a dream of mine and I would appreciate any help.

aw3433

There was alot of questions that involved calculations that I was not prepared for. I can't remember the exact questions but one involved PSi and volume. There was also a question regarding 3 balloons each shaped differently and the question was which would rise quickest if all three are filled with the same contents and same mass? The answer choices were of only those 3 balloons. I thought it might have been the balloon with the larger surface area.