• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Diopters, Spheres, and Cylinders, oh my!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pltReed

Hey guys! This is my first time posting to this board. I’ve been a lurker here for a while. J
I’ve got a question on the pre-operative surgical requirements. I printed out the NAMI medical document (http://www.nomi.med.navy.mil/Nami/WaiverGuideTopics/ophthalmology.htm#lasik ) and showed it to my doc.

Under “Aeromedical Concerns” it says, “The appropriate preoperative refractive error range is –8.00 to +6.00 total diopters sphere with no more than 3.00 diopters of cylinder.” I fit into that, EXCEPT for my right eye. I have 3.25 diopters cylinder in my right eye.

My doc is extremely confidant in his prospects for the surgery. He is shooting for 20/15, and fully expects to hit 20/20. Of course, he’s paid to say that, however, he’s been my doc for a while, and he’s really a great surgeon, great track record, real quality.

How sticky are these Pre-Operative reqs? I looked up the attached docs (PRK AMS template, SF 507/SF-93 Continuation) and found no mention of Cylinders (whatever those are). If I go ahead with the surgery, and end up with 20/20 vision, what then? I really want this to work out, but not if it is going to ruin everything. Does anyone have any advice, or experiences?

Thanks guys!

aviat24

aviat24

Well it's 5 days after PRK and things are not to bad(the contacts came out today). I was surprised how little pain there was, I only took advil on day 2 but obviously people also have different pain thresholds so who knows?