• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

cookie_monster

Hello all,

I was part of class 10-18, (Feb 4, 2018) and went through a few days before I had a meeting with the flight surgeon. Pretty much I was NPQ'd for having 1.75 astigmatism, when 1.00 was the max standard. I remember I asked the eye doc at MEPS if my astigastigm was within standards and he said yeah.

Everything else medically was fine. (even my vision, surprisingly) I decided not to redesignate since I'm a civilian pilot and don't think i would be a motivated officer doing anything else. Waiting on the out-processing paperwork currently.

Anyone have a similar experience to mine?

If I do decide to get laser eye surgery, what would be better, Lasik or Prk, for my astigmitism (1.75)?

What would be the process of going back to OCS? I really hope I don't have to start from the beginning of the application process all over again.

**I ultimately ended up DORing since the out-process is 2-3 weeks rather than the 1-2 months for an NPQ. Hope that won't have an adverse effect if I state my reason.

exNavyOffRec

Hello all,

I was part of class 10-18, (Feb 4, 2018) and went through a few days before I had a meeting with the flight surgeon. Pretty much I was NPQ'd for having 1.75 astigmatism, when 1.00 was the max standard. I remember I asked the eye doc at MEPS if my astigastigm was within standards and he said yeah.

Everything else medically was fine. (even my vision, surprisingly) I decided not to redesignate since I'm a civilian pilot and don't think i would be a motivated officer doing anything else. Waiting on the out-processing paperwork currently.

If I do decide to get laser eye surgery, what would be better, Lasik or Prk, for my astigmitism (1.75)?