• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Any FAC's out there?

SoloDaNINJA

Hello,

Have any of you guys served a tour as an FAC? If so, would you mind me asking you some questions about what its like?

phrogpilot73

My last tour on active duty was with BLT 1/8 as the Battalion AirO/FAC. In addition to being a Reserve Phrog pilot, I'm also a GS-12 at EWTGLANT as a Training Instructor for Tactical Air Control Party School (where they teach new FACs/JTACs). Am I qualified enough to answer your questions?

SoloDaNINJA

Hahaha, I suppose so, since I do not know what half of those abbreviations mean.

My questions are pretty much regarding details of life as FAC. For instance, do FAC's deploy as a part of their 1 year tour? As an FAC can you volunteer, and get assigned to ANGLICO? How close are FAC's to the front lines, and do they ever have to actually engage in combat, actually with their rifle, not just calling in air support? Are there any toher Marines you work closely with on a day to day basis, or do you feel like a lone man in a whole battalion? When you are training for deployment, do you just hone you FAC skills, or do you also train to increase your skills as a rifleman? I guess what it boils down to is, when you are FAC, are you just an Air Traffic Controller, assigned to battalion headquarters, or are you actually one of "the guys" out there on the frontlines fighting for the men next to you, with the ability to call in air strikes?

I dont ask these things because I think I am all gung-ho and that its gonna be fun to shoot people and watch their head explode, I am not like that, I am just trying to get the picture of what its like.

Thank you for your service, and assistance.

phrogpilot73